A snoot-full of color

Like everyone else, I follow some safety guidelines and wilfully disregard others.  For instance, I always wear my seat belt, but will leave the house while a space heater is still running.  While experimenting with dye possibilities for the Shipwreck Shawl, I spent a few days fiddling around with different combinations.  Safety instructions: wear a dust mask while working with powdered dye.  Hmmm.  Should I?  Nah, I don’t want to go look for one.  Although I’m sure there is one in my work bag, and I don’t feel guilty for appropriating the occasional medical supply for crafty purposes… I’m just using a teeny, tiny, itsy bitsy bit and I want to start NOW.  Plunging impatiently ahead, I dye my samples free of any encumbering dust masks!  Yeah!  I’m a safety rebel!   

Upon arising the day after the test dyeing, I delicately blow my nose and immediately succumb to a brief moment of half-awake, uncaffeinated panic.  “Dear God! How could I have a raging sinus infection and not know it??”  While staring foggily into the tissue, it dawns on me that the offending booger is the precise color of a sprinkle of moistened Kelly Green powder.   Great.  I stagger off to the coffee pot.   No more flaunting the dust mask when using powdered dye and I’ll skip any photos of colorful bodily secretions.  Not that any photos were taken.  Really.  Instead, here is a shot of the color combinations I came up with.

shipwreck-group

Ultimately I was aiming for the sample on the far left, but ended up with the version on the far right.  It’s a short pathway from the nasal mucous membranes to the brain, and I’m sure the snoot-full of Kelly Green is to blame for the bonehead miscalculation that resulted in me adding too much dye to the pot when I whipped up the final version.  Note to self: 1/4 tsp 1/8 tsp.

Leave a Reply

